Chemical engineering professors named College Analysis Chairs | Waterloo Information

Evelyn Yim and Aiping Yu, each chemical engineering professors, have been designated College of Waterloo Analysis Chairs together with seven different professors throughout the campus.

Yim, who joined Waterloo Engineering in 2016, is an knowledgeable in nanofabrication applied sciences and is without doubt one of the main researchers learning usingEvelyn Yim artificial supplies for altering stem cell conduct and differentiation of stem cell tradition.

She and her Regenerative Nanomedicine Lab group are working to use the data of biomaterial-stem cell interplay to direct stem cell differentiation and tissue regeneration for neural, vascular and corneal tissue engineering.

Evelyn Yim of chemical engineering is a brand new College Analysis Chair.

Yim is a researcher with Waterloo’s Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology and the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology.    

Recipient of a prestigious Steacie fellowship 

Yu, who joined Waterloo Engineering in 2009, is the director of the Carbon Nanomaterials Laboratory for Renewable Power and Multi-functional Composites, and a researcher on the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology.

Her work is primarily centered on supplies growth for power storage and conversion, photocatalysts, and nanocomposites.

Yu’s analysis purpose is to develop light-weight, excessive power density and lengthy cycle life hybrid supercapacitors that mix some great benefits of battery and supercapacitors for vehicle and digital gadgets.

In 2020, Yu obtained a E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship by the Pure Sciences and Engineering Analysis Council of Canada to assist set up a world-leading carbon nanotechnology centre on the College of Waterloo.

Recognizing excellent accomplishments

The Workplace of the Vice-President, Tutorial & Provost stated that the College owes a lot of its popularity and stature to the standard of its professors and their scholarly accomplishments.

“The College of Waterloo acknowledges distinctive achievement and pre-eminence in a specific subject of information by the designation ‘College Analysis Chair’,” stated the official announcement from the Workplace of the Vice-President, Tutorial & Provost.

Since 2004, Waterloo has granted 123 College Analysis Chair awards, together with this yr’s recipients.

*Banner photograph is of Aiping Yu, a brand new College Analysis Chair

Supply hyperlink