Who’s operating for council, faculty board in New Westminster?

Candidates will likely be introduced after a nomination assembly Might 18.

New Westminster’s latest civic celebration is formally out of the gate.

Neighborhood First held its inaugural annual common assembly in digital format final evening to undertake its governing bylaws and choose an govt, headed up by new chair Cheryl Greenhalgh and vice-chair Nancy Kato.

Greenhalgh stated the web assembly attracted upwards of 75 individuals, operating the gamut of demographic teams in New Westminster, and included each acquainted faces and a few newcomers. The left-leaning Neighborhood First was the brainchild of a gaggle of New Westminster residents that included some New Democrat heavy hitters, together with former MLA and MP Daybreak Black and former MLA Judy Darcy.

Two sitting civic politicians and new celebration members, metropolis councillor Patrick Johnstone and college trustee Dee Beattie, spoke on the assembly to replace attendees on what’s been taking place on the native authorities scene.

Greenhalgh stated the brand new civic celebration now has an open nomination course of underway for each incumbents and newcomers, and anybody who’s desirous about operating can attain out. An energetic search committee has been set as much as take functions and conduct interviews over the subsequent couple of weeks.

The celebration is hoping to carry its nomination assembly for the Oct. 15 elections on Might 18. Social gathering members will vote to pick candidates by secret poll.

The celebration’s web site outlines 5 priorities: social, financial and environmental justice; reconciliation and decolonization; local weather motion and stewardship; public companies; and social democracy.

The web site says members are “inspired to help the NDP to advance a progressive agenda provincially and federally.” It doesn’t require membership within the NDP, however it does specify that members of Neighborhood First should not be members of any “opposing” political celebration.

Different new Neighborhood First board members are Janice Meehan, recording secretary; David Black, membership secretary; Jason Campbell, fundraising chair; Raunaq Singh, youth consultant; Andii Stephens, labour consultant; and members at massive Debra Parkes, Frances Tang-Graham, Jack Makolewski and Alex Ng.

“With the civic election solely five-and-a-half months away, it’s actually heart-warming to have so many dedicated individuals from all throughout our metropolis step as much as volunteer for Neighborhood First in order that we are able to hit the bottom operating,” Greenhalgh stated.

Comply with Julie MacLellan on Twitter @juliemaclellan.

E-mail Julie, jmaclellan@newwestrecord.ca.


NOTE: This story was up to date at 3:30 p.m. on Might 2 with further details about membership.

Supply hyperlink